Wednesday, January 25, 2012

Washington: Hearing Scheduled for Proposed Improvements

A NRA alert last year, reported about the new Discover Pass that is now required when accessing certain public lands in Washington by motor vehicle. House Bill 2217, sponsored by state Representatives Christopher Hurst (D-31), Cathy Dahlquist (R-31) and Dan Kristiansen (R-39), would make necessary improvements to the taxing Discover Pass. To learn what areas of land the pass is now required for access, please see this excerpt from the Discover Pass’ website:
The pass allows access to state recreation lands and water access sites managed by Washington State Parks (State Parks), Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW) and Washington State Department of Natural Resources (DNR). These lands include state parks, water access points, heritage sites, wildlife and natural areas, trails and trailheads. The Discover Pass will be needed to access DNR’s developed or designated recreation areas, sites, trailheads and parking areas.
HB 2217 would allow the annual pass and day-use pass to be transferable among vehicles registered at the same address as current law restricts each pass to one vehicle/license plate only. Additionally, it would prohibit the collection of dealer fees for the issuance of a Discover Pass (the current dealer fee is $2.00).
HB 2217 will be heard in the state House Committee on General Government Appropriations & Oversight at 2:00 p.m. on Thursday, January 26th, in Hearing Room C of the John L. O’Brien Building in Olympia. Please contact members of the House Committee on General Government Appropriations & Oversight TODAY and respectfully urge them to support HB 2217. Also, please leave your state Representative a short message on the toll-free hotline at 1-800-562-6000 and request their support. To determine your state Representative, please click here. The contact information for the members of the Committee on General Government Appropriations & Oversight has been provided for you below:
Representative Zack Hudgins (D-11), Chairman
(360) 786-7956
Representative Mark Miloscia (D-30), Vice Chairman
(360) 786-7898
Representative Luis Moscoso (D-1), Vice Chairman
(360) 786-7900
Representative Jim McCune (R-2)
(360) 786-7824
Representative David Taylor (R-15)
(360) 786-7874
Representative John Ahern (R-6)
(360) 786-7962
Representative Mike Armstrong (R-12)
(360) 786-7832
Representative Brian Blake (D-19)
(360) 786-7870
Representative Joe Fitzgibbon (D-34)
(360) 786-7952
Representative Connie Ladenburg (D-29)
(360) 786-7906
Representative Jamie Pedersen (D-43)
(360) 786-7826
Representative Kevin Van De Wege (D-24)
(360) 786-7916
Representative J.T. Wilcox (R-2)
(360) 786-7912

No comments:

Post a Comment